Spend the Holidays with SMART Online

SMART Holiday CelebrationsSMART Recovery Online (SROL) and our UK online community will both be hosting safe and fun-filled meetings and holiday activities during the last week of December.

Christmas and New Year’s can be challenging times for people in recovery; services are closed, family pressures pile up and for many, the holidays can be pretty lonely. Whether to celebrate with others working on recovery or to get some support during a particularly challenging day, remember that the SMART Recovery USA and SMART Recovery UK online communities are available.

Christmas

Beginning at 5am ET (4am CT, 3am MT, & 2am PT) the SMART Recovery UK website will be hosting a fun-filled day including a Christmas quiz, open mic, music, poetry, and more! Registration on the UK site is required in order to participate in the UK activities.

Beginning at 12 noon ET, US online facilitators will be providing meetings every hour on the hour (ending at 10pm ET). All are welcome, including those who have a loved one with an addictive behavior. Meetings will be hosted in the Voice Room of SMART Recovery USA Online. Be sure to register before Wednesday in order to be signed up to participate. (Note: meeting verifications will not be provided for these special meetings.)


New Year’s

We will be celebrating our international presence with our “New Year’s Around the World” party at SMART Recovery Online. The celebration will begin at 5:00 a.m. U.S. Eastern Time on 12/31/13 as the Christmas Islands welcome in the New Year. Then we’ll continue west through New Zealand, Australia, and “around the world” welcoming in 2014, wrapping up at 5:00 a.m. (U.S. Eastern Time) on 01/01/14 as the New Year arrives in Hawaii.

The activities during this 24 hour online New Year’s Party will be as varied as our many volunteers who are donating their time to make this event possible. Some activities in the past have included:

Presentations/topic discussions
Trivia games
Stories/poems/quotes
Best movies, songs or moments of the year
Just hanging out…. or whatever!

These online activities are open and all are welcome!

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

One Response to “Spend the Holidays with SMART Online”

Powered by WordPress